“Sorry, I can’t come to your wedding…”

Words I absolutely HATE HATE HATE saying to my close friends… These past two years I have uttered them far too often and it’s something that I’m not happy about, but like everything, it’s all relative.

I am extremely privileged to have the people I have in my life, no other way to describe it. A lot of my closest friends have gotten married, friends in Caracas, Boston, Europe, etc … all over and I haven’t been able to attend their special day. Just being invited is something that never ceases to humble me and it means the world, truly, but having to say no it’s pretty dissapointing.

In fairness to life, and with all the gratitude possible, I have to say that the reason why I haven’t been able to make these special events its due to being so busy with touring and life in Los Angeles. However, again, it doesn’t get any easier sayin no.

Some people might find it interesting that I actually DO want to come to these weddings… I say this because i’m usually vocal about my stance on marriage or non-marriage I should say, but beyond anything, the love for my friends and my joy when I hear they found their special someone makes my life that much better.

I wish I could go…

Today, August 17th marks my parents’ 35th anniversary. I have not met 2 more incredible people in my life and I just cannot put into words the amount of love, appreciation, respect and adoration I have towards them.

It is my goal in life to be at the very least half the man my father is, and I’ll be the luckiest man in the world if my wife is as smart, honest, loyal, and  transparent  as my mom. No, this is not some Oedipus complex issue… maybe… ask my mom, she’s the psychologist… i’m just a musician with a blog.

As i’ve started to write this my itunes was on shuffle and so far i’ve heard: “Wish You Were Here” by Pink Floyd, “Love Comes Walking In” by Van Halen and “Can’t Explain” by The Who… creeeepy.

d

Leave a Reply

