Tour Diary #1 ~ London/Bristol/Poole/Wolverhampton

If you know me personally you would know what a big deal it was for me to visit England, let alone London. Ever since I can remember I’ve been fascinated by the accent, the culture, the weather, the vibe, THE HUMOR and of course the football, specifically Arsenal FC. Anyways, this topic will be touched upon believe me.
I can only start this by thanking life for giving the opportunity to have this as my job: traveling the world, playing with some of the best musicians I have ever seen and met, meeting great people from all walks of life, seeing historical places, etc, its just surreal, never gets old and I plan on making this last as long as I can. A massive part of being able to have this lifestyle or “job” has been the unconditional help of my mother and father whom I miss very much (dad i can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks!) my sister,  and my friends.
I went through some difficult times last year and 3 of my closest friends helped me out within seconds of asking for their help, a lending hand that let me keep doing what I wanted and eventually led me to meet Richie and that turned into something great. Although I’ve met people along the way I have only been able to perform with this gig in front only 2 or 3 of my close friends, people I consider family; but 2 of my close friends live in London and came to the show. Luis was one of the people who helped me and I cannot put into words how thankful I am to him, and playing this greatly important gig in my dream city of London in front of him was phenomenal. It was a way to “pay him back” and it was just beautiful to share a moment like that with friends.
I won’t talk much about the actual performances because it would simply take too much time and as you can tell it’s hard for me to not drift in and out of topics…
I’ve been feeling good, the jet lag has not hit me at all, it never does, so that’s great… Bristol and Poole were great and same with Wolverhampton. We had the chance to stay in Bath for a couple of days… Gorgeous city, historical to say the least. We also went to see STONEHENGE which was killer as well as a ride down the South Coast of England… excellent! Wolverhampton in near Birmingham, the birthplace of Heavy Metal   \m/       \m/
As far as the gear i’ve been using… I’m using my new favorite snare drum a Pearl Joey Jordison signature snare… its killer!! not metal at all… funky as all hell!!! A Sonor drumset, bass drum and floor tom  only… and my trusty cymbal setup: 14 new beat hats, 18″ crash ride and my baby a 21″ Constantinople Big Band Ride… how one of my students would say, this sounds “buttery”
Big shout out to the opening bands, both The Fry band and the Ben Poole band. The Fry kill every night and will be our guests for the whole UK leg of the tour. You have to look up Ben Poole’s music… this lad is awesome… amazing guys and great hang!! We’ll miss their great music and humor on the road.
Now, ARSENAL… Went to the Emirates stadium and got a tour around it from none other than Charlie George, an Arsenal Legend… I could write a book about my visit, but let’s just say is was breathtaking.
I will write after the next 4 shows or so… thanks for reading.

d

3 Responses to “Tour Diary #1 ~ London/Bristol/Poole/Wolverhampton”

  1. michelle holland Says:

    Demian, you sound so unbelievably happy. You have an awesome way of getting that across in your words. Always a pleasure reading your blogs.

  2. that’s awesome bro! thanks for the shot out, it means a lot. I love you so and Im so crazy proud of you. have a blast with dad! xoxo

  3. kelly andrews Says:

    So pleased you loved London Demian. Saw your gig in Newcastle this week and was blown away. Want to come to Edinburgh tonight but can’t make it. Have an amazing tour in Europe and take care….x

Leave a Reply

