Jamie Alonge

Almost 3 years ago when I moved to Los Angeles I met Jamie via the internet; no, not through a dating site thank you very much, keep the jokes for another day hahaha, but through a music network site. I was new in town, needed gigs and to get some experience in Los Angeles and Jamie was looking for a percussionist for an acoustic show. We’ve kept collaborating for the last 2 1/2 years and it has been a great thing.

I can’t speak highly enough of him as a friend. He asked me to become part of his band “Native Sun”, a funky trio featuring his little brother and Flea spawn Mike. We played for about 2 years… tons of shows, recorded 2 EP’s etc. The songs are still up on http://www.myspace.com/jamiealongemusic . Mike had to leave in order to pursue his College studies since he was just 17 when he played with us. Quick note: Mikey is a MONSTER and he’s one of the funniest dudes i’ve ever met, great songwriter too; awful taste in baseball but yeah, great in music hahaha.

Months later he, Jamie, decided to record a new EP and capture what he thought was his true essence. I was flattered when he asked me to record both drums and percussion on this 3 track EP and long story short I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of this work. The tracks were cut at Phantom Vox studios, one of the most incredible studios i’ve ever been to in my life. Robi Draco Rosa owns and runs the place, if you don’t know who he is I would suggest looking him up. As a songwriter alone he has among his credits: la vida loca, she bangs, the cup of life, etc… you get my point, he da man.

As far as the dorky side of things, and I’ll keep this brief. I used a hybrid of 2 1970’s slingerland kits, all sorts of cymbals and every single model of drumstick and specialty sticks that VATER were kind enough to provide me with, again I can’t thank Vater enough for their support, its amazing what the right tools can achieve. I also tracked toooons of percussion: cajon, shakers, wooden djembe, congas, bongos, etc…

The other musicians that recorded were top notch and I am extremely honored to have worked with them: Doug Pettibone on Electric Guitar, Electric Mandolin, Pedal Steel and Weissenborn; Steve Aguilar Hammond Organ, Wurlitzer, Rhodes, Grand Piano, Moog and Glockenspiel; and my dear friend and fellow member of GIRTH: Josh Gonzalez on bass… damn i love this guy’s sense of groove and feel.

The music is completely different than the california rock/funky vibe that Native Sun had. I really enjoy the music but as always I’m always focusing on the lyrics and Jamie is one of my favorite song-writers. There’s an honesty and personal touch to his songs that I can relate to and i’m sure anyone else that has a heart and or brain (and speaks english) can.

Here’s his facebook page, please become a fan, check out the music and tell us what you think:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jamie-Alonge-Music/275621634752?v=wall&ref=nf#/pages/Jamie-Alonge-Music/275621634752?v=wall&ref=nf

thx

d

Leave a Reply

